Day 104 – April 14

Today’s Readings:

Judges 9-10
Luke 12:32-59
Psalm 104

“I have come to set the earth on fire, and how I wish it were already blazing! There is a baptism with which I must be baptized, and how great is my anguish until it is accomplished!” Luke 12:49-50

Today is Good Friday. A day where Christians around the world reflect on the gift of the greatest love given. A day where we consider the reality that God was stripped of everything but his love, and let His love be poured out for us as a perfect sacrifice on a tree. How do we spend such a day?

It is good to reflect on the Cross. St Magdalene of Canossa, a not-well known saint was fond of telling her followers, “to meditate on the Crucifix is better than a whole series of lenten sermons.” Let today be a day for staying close to Jesus on the Cross, reflecting on His sacrifice. What does it mean for us the He suffered such cruelty? That He did not flee at the terror of the pain He would endure, but would allow himself to be ‘baptized’ into suffering for the sake of each soul.


When I survey the wondrous cross
On which the Prince of glory died,
My richest gain I count but loss,
And pour contempt on all my pride.

Forbid it, Lord, that I should boast,
Save in the death of Christ my God!
All the vain things that charm me most,
I sacrifice them to His blood.

See from His head, His hands, His feet,
Sorrow and love flow mingled down!
Did e’er such love and sorrow meet,
Or thorns compose so rich a crown?

Were the whole realm of nature mine,
That were a present far too small;
Love so amazing, so divine,
Demands my soul, my life, my all.

– Isaac Watts


May God Bless You!

cb365

Leave a Reply

