Day 25 – January 25

Today’s Readings:

Exodus 4-6
Matthew 16
Psalm 25

Moses is the hesitant leader, who tried to worm his way out of the mission God had for him.
– “But, they will not believe me nor listen to me!”
– “I am not eloquent…I am slow of speech and tongue.”
– “Oh, my Lord, send, I pray, send some other person.”

Can you hear yourself saying these words? Are they words of excuse, trying to get out of a daunting task? Moses did not see himself equipped to the mission God called him to, yet he was the one God chose. God could have chosen a well-polished speaker to send to pharaoh, yet he chose Moses.

Our society would agree with Moses; he is ill-equipped for such a task and should be replaced, or not even considered. Then why would God risk the freeing of his people to such a one as Moses?

That the glory of God may shine through the weak instrument. Let us consider, then, the next time we feel called to do something for God, and the excuses start forming in our minds, may we choose to walk forward in trust with the words of Saint Paul on our heart:

And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. – 1 Corinthians 12:9

May God bless you!

cropped-cb365_header.png

Leave a Reply

